Board of Directors

Brian Corban

Acting Chair

Brian Corban was appointed to the KiwiRail Board as Deputy Chair in July 2018. Brian is an Auckland-based company director and lawyer. His experience includes Chair of Genesis for 10 years, Chair of Radio New Zealand Ltd, and the Foundation Chair of Television New Zealand Ltd.  He has previously served as Deputy Chair of NZ Railways Corporation/KiwiRail in 2008. He is also Chair of the Melanesian Trust Board, a Board member of Auckland War Memorial Museum, a director of Ngatarawa Wines and a number of private companies and a trustee of various community trusts. He is a former Chair of Auckland City Mission and member of the Waitangi Tribunal.

John Leuchars


John is a professional company director and civil engineer. He brings significant experience in senior management and governance of international consulting engineering companies. John has experience as a Board member of professional institutions, private and public companies and not-for-profit organisations. John is a Board member of the Wellington Gateway Project (Transmission Gully Motorway). He is a member of the Auckland City Council Value for Money review panel. He was a member of the Board of Genesis Energy until April 2018, and is a Fellow of the Institute of Professional Engineers New Zealand.

Paul Harper


Paul Harper joined the KiwiRail Board in May 2016.

He brings experience in directorships and senior management roles across the transport and infrastructure sectors. Paul was the foundation Chairman of Netlogix Ltd and is a Director of Sealink group and Health Alliance Ltd. His varied roles have included marine engineer, shore-based shipping company management in Norway, Scotland, Brazil and Australia, Group General Manager of the Interisland Line, and establishment CEO of Carter Holt Harvey Lodestar. He is also a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors and a member of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport.

Mike Pohio


Mike is a Hamilton-based director. Mike currently holds directorships on the Boards of Panuku Development Auckland, NIWA, OSPRI and Te Atiawa Iwi Holdings. He is also Chairman of BNZ Partners, Waikato Region. His executive career includes CEO of Tainui Group Holdings (TGH) for eight years and senior executive roles for companies including Port of Tauranga, Fonterra, NZ Dairy Group and Elders Pastoral. His governance background includes six years as a shareholder and director of NZL Group, seven years on the Transpower Board and a Ministerial appointment to the University of Waikato Council. Mike holds an MBA from IMD, Lausanne and an FCA from the Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.

Bob Major


Bob brings valuable governance experience to the Board. He has spent many years working in the dairy industry, including Fonterra where he was a member of the Senior Leadership Team, the New Zealand Dairy Board and the New Zealand Dairy Research Institute. He is a current director of Westland Milk Products, BioVittoria Ltd and Chair of Gibb Holdings (Nelson) Ltd. He is a former Chair of Mud House Wines and director of a number of companies including Sealord Group and Barker Fruit Processors.

John Dennehy


John brings with him a valuable background in financial services focusing on international transport and infrastructure, including rail, shipping, road and aviation in the private and state-owned sectors. John has served on a number of Boards in New Zealand and in the United Kingdom, and is currently Chair of the Mercer Group Ltd.

Sue McCormack


A partner at Mortlock McCormack Law, Sue specialises in corporate and commercial law. She is the Pro-Chancellor of the University of Canterbury and has previously been a director of the Lyttelton Port Company Limited, the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra and the Public Trust.